Denmark: Road to Eurovision

Become a Patron!

Denmark is a veteran of the competition. Since its debut in 1957, the country has participated forty-six times and has been absent fifteen times.

It was absent for eleven consecutive contests from 1967-1977, due to a decision of the DR´s new head of entertainment Niels Jørgen Kaiser that didn’t considered the Eurovision a quality entertainment.

Denmark has won the contest three times, the first one in 1963 with Grethe and Jørgen Ingmann; the second one in 2000 with the Olsen Brothers; and the latest one in 2013 with Emmelie de Forest and the song Only Teardrops.

This year the country will be represented by Jonas Flodager Rasmussen, known professionally as simply Rasmussen, a Danish singer and actor.

Higher Ground, the song that will represent Denmark, is inspired by the Viking Magnus Erlendsson and his refusal to fight in the Battle of Anglesey Sound in 1098.

Contrary to standard depictions of Viking inclinations, Erlendsson believed in non-violence and to solve conflicts through peaceful means instead of violence. The Eurovision stage is the best place where share this story and these values.

Did you enjoy this article? You may also like  Bulgaria: Road to Eurovision and  Belgium: Road to Eurovision

Become a Patron!

Mauro Armadi (Rausten)

Founder and Editor-in-chief of “My country? Europe.”.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.