Malta: Road to Eurovision

Become a Patron!

Since its debut in 1971, Malta has participated thirty times, with a long absence of sixteen years after the 1975 contest, after a couple of last places in its first two attempts in the contest in 1971 and 1972.

The country has never won the Eurovision Song Contest, but its has reached two times the second place, in 2002 with Ira Losco and the song 7th Wonder, and in 2008 with Chiara and the song Angel.

Last year Malta was represented by Claudia Faniello, who failed to reach the final with the song Breathlessly.

This year is the turn of Christabelle Borg, known simply as Christabelle, a Maltese singer, songwriter, and television presenter, that has been performing on stage since the age of three.

After a brief stint on television in her teens, Christabelle decided to focus on her music career, and participated in several song contests such as the Maltese selection for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

The song Taboo was written by Christabelle alongside past Eurovision winner Thomas G:son, Muxu and and Johnny Sanchez.

Did you enjoy this article? You may also like  Finland: Road to Eurovision and  Israel: Road to Eurovision

Become a Patron!

Mauro Armadi (Rausten)

Founder and Editor-in-chief of “My country? Europe.”.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.